You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 14, 2010.

“What are your Friday plans?”

“Why?”  My eyes narrowed.  “You’re thinking of something…”

“Well… I think it would be a perfect day for Spa Castle.”

Spa Castle!  I had almost forgot it was on my list of things to do on a Friday.  Spa Castle, for the uninitiated, is a 5-story, 100,000 sq ft theme park of a spa located in College Point, a quiet residential Queens neighborhood.

After a looong 7 train + bus ride, we finally spotted a terracotta monolith rising above the squat houses.  $35 gets you access to the full facility on weekdays ($45 on weekends).  I found it surprisingly crowded for a Friday afternoon — a diverse mix of men and women of every shape, size and background.

You really need to experience Spa Castle first hand to fully appreciate it, but my highlights were Sauna Valley, a series of igloo-shaped themed saunas, and the all-season rooftop Bade Pools, with aquajets that soothe and massage and blast from out of nowhere.

After a couple of hours we were relaxed enough to brave the “No bathing suits” indoor bathhouse, with chilled plunge pools and even more aquajets to be doused by.

Highly recommended!

Pages of The Power Broker read: 5
Total pages: 224

About me

In 2006 I purchased The Power Broker, the biography of Robert Moses, which weighs in at 1162 pages not including notes, index and bibliography.

I got to page 219.

In January 2010 I downsized myself to a 4-day work week. Objective: regain some of the time I've lost, and maybe discover something new about myself.

And finish reading The Power Broker.

March 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031